Calames Plus, services to enhance the value of digital collections

Go to Calames

Calames Plus


Calames Plus is a range of services associated with the production of data in Calames. These services are mainly intended for libraries Calames that do not have a digital library or adequate publishing tool.

Calames Plus is available to network institutions Calames for :

  • thehosting on the servers ofAbes of files resulting from digitisation operations
  • linking to authority data and quality control of links between scanned documents and Calames associated records
  • the citability of digitised resources through the attribution of permanent URLs 
  • access to digitized resources using the viewer Calames

Please note: The deposit and association of files with records Calames is not a substitute for encoding data in EAD. Any deposit project must be examined beforehand by the services ofAbes.

Calames Images

Calames Images is an additional solution for hosting scanned images. This service is available to libraries in the network Calames that do not have a digital library and wish to enhance their collections iconographic:

Please note: The image deposit is independent of the cataloguing of documents. The technical requirements and instructions for using the Calames Images service are described in the presentation leaflet attached to the network Calamesparticipation agreements .

Provision of research inventories

The libraries in the Calames network benefit from a service that transforms their encoded data into EAD: the research inventories are exported as PDF files and associated with the records Calames, making them available from the catalogue Calames.

Calames Plus, services de valorisation des collections numérisées

Accéder à Calames

Calames Plus


Calames Plus constitue une gamme de services associés à la production de données dans Calames. Ces services sont destinées principalement aux bibliothèques Calames ne disposant pas de bibliothèque numérique ou d’outil de publication adéquat. Calames Plus est à la disposition des établissements membres du réseau Calames pour ce qui concerne :

  • l’hébergement des fichiers issus d’opération de numérisation sur les serveurs de l’Abes
  • le liage aux données d’autorité et le contrôle qualité des liens entre les documents numérisés et les notices Calames associées
  • la citabilité des ressources numérisées par l’attribution d’URLs pérennes 
  • l’accès aux ressources numérisées à l’aide de la visionneuse Calames

A savoir : Le dépôt et l’association des fichiers aux notices Calames ne se substituent pas à l’encodage de données en EAD. Tout projet de dépôt doit faire l’objet d’un examen préalable par les services de l’Abes.

Calames Images

Calames Images constitue une solution d’appoint pour l’hébergement d’images numérisées. Ce service est à la disposition des bibliothèques du réseau Calames ne disposant pas de bibliothèque numérique et souhaitant valoriser leurs collections iconographiques :

A savoir : Le dépôt d’images est indépendant du catalogage des documents. Les prérequis techniques et le mode d’emploi du service Calames Images sont décrits dans un document de présentation joint aux conventions de participation au réseau Calames.

Mise à disposition d’inventaires de recherche

Les bibliothèques du réseau Calames bénéficient d’un service de transformation des données encodées en EAD  : les inventaires de recherche sont exportés sous forme de fichiers PDF et associés aux notices Calames, ce qui les rend disponibles à partir du catalogue Calames.