The reporting of doctoral theses

Go to theses.fr

TEF, data model for theses


The data produced via the STEP and STAR applications comply with the AFNOR recommendation. TEF - French Electronic Theses- which aims to facilitate data exchange and dissemination at national and international level. The TEF schema includes descriptive (bibliographic) metadata and management (administration, rights, conservation) metadata.

The TEF recommendation consists of the following elements :

  • metadata modeling
  • XSD schema: exchange format and validation tool that specifies the structure and content of a TEF record.
  • schematron: validation rules that precisely express the constraints specific to TEF, in coherence with the regulatory texts organizing the reporting and archiving of electronic theses.
A STEF data model has been designed using the format TEF enriched with metadata useful for the description of thesis subjects in preparation.

 

STAR - Thesis Reporting Archiving


The reporting and archiving of doctoral theses in electronic form defended in France is ensured via the national professional application STAR at the disposal of the institutions empowered to award the doctoral degree.

In accordance with theorder of 25 may 2016 which sets the national framework and modalities for the award of the doctoral degree, the use of STAR is of a regulatory and mandatory nature.

STAR, a central device

STAR constitutes a central point in the national circuit of doctoral theses defended in France in order to ensure their exhaustive reporting, to promote their dissemination and to guarantee their perennial conservation.

Each institution has its own collaborative workspace: as the thesis progresses, the different actors (doctoral students, doctoral schools, tuition services, libraries, etc.) are called upon to carry out the tasks that are specific to them.

In order to promote data exchange and interoperability between information systems, the STAR application offers configurations adapted to the organization of institutions. It is thus possible to import metadata of theses entered in other information systems and to transform them according to the metadata schema. TEFstandardized and validated

Features and Services

The following features are available :

  • archiving: STAR acts as an intermediary between the institutions and the CINES  (CAP).
    • automation of exports of files and certain metadata to PAC
  • attribution of an identifier: an NNT identifier - National Thesis Number - is associated to each thesis, which guarantees a perennial access to thesis records from the search engine. Theses.fr
  • descriptive metadata management
  • conversion of metadata from TEF format to different formats :
    • UNIMARC : catalogue feed Sudoc
    • Dublin Core: OAI-PMH STAR Tank Supply
    • TEI: feeding the open TEL archive
  • authority metadata enhancement
  • export of theses to a diffusion server (CCSD, Abes ...)
  • searchable: the metadata base is searchable from institutions' STAR environments
Go to STAR

STEP - Reporting of Theses in Preparation


The reporting of doctoral theses in preparation is ensured through the national professional application STEP . The reporting of theses in preparation is one of the good practices to improve the visibility of the doctoral research in progress, this information being accessible from the search engine theses.fr.

Precision: the reporting of theses in preparation does not guarantee protection or exclusivity on the subject treated. The scientific interest of a submitted subject is exclusively a matter for dialogue between doctoral students and their thesis director, who will take care not to approve a subject that has already been reported.

Features

At the disposal of the thesis managers of the defending institutions, STEP proposes various forms for the capture of descriptive metadata of the theses in preparation and the events concerning them (ex: date of defense, change of defending institution, abandonment).

Depending on institutional policy, doctoral students may have STEP identifiers to enter and complete certain data themselves. If need be, the connection modalities are transmitted to them by the managers of their institution at the time of the creation of the file corresponding to their thesis in preparation.

In coherence with the information system of the French Ministry of Foreign AffairsAbes for the notification of theses, the STEP application is interconnected with STAR.

In order to accompany the different stages of the thesis circuit, STEP adapts to the information systems of the establishments. As such, it allows the import of data from different local information sources.

Go to STEP

Le signalement des thèses de doctorat

Accéder à theses.fr

TEF, modèle de données pour les thèses


Les données produites via les applications STEP et STAR sont conformes à la  recommandation AFNOR TEF Thèses Électroniques Françaises– qui a pour objet de faciliter les échanges de données et leur diffusion au niveau national et international. Le schéma TEF comporte des métadonnées descriptives (bibliographiques) et des métadonnées de gestion (administration, droits, conservation).

La recommandation TEF est constituée des éléments suivants :

  • modélisation des métadonnées
  • schéma XSD : format d’échange et outil de validation qui spécifie la structure et le contenu d’une notice TEF
  • schematron : règles de validation qui expriment avec précision les contraintes propres à TEF, en cohérence avec les textes réglementaires organisant le signalement et l’archivage des thèses électroniques
Un modèle de données STEF a été conçu à partir du format TEF enrichi des métadonnées utiles pour la description des sujets de thèse en préparation.

 

STAR – Signalement des Thèses Archivage


Le signalement et l’archivage des thèses de doctorat sous forme électronique soutenues en France est assuré via l’application professionnelle nationale STAR à la disposition des établissements habilités à délivrer le diplôme de doctorat.

Conformément à l’arrêté du 25 mai 2016 qui fixe le cadre national et les modalités de délivrance du diplôme de doctorat, l’utilisation de STAR est de nature réglementaire et obligatoire.

STAR, un dispositif central

STAR constitue un point central dans le circuit national des thèses de doctorat soutenues en France afin d’en assurer le signalement exhaustif, de favoriser leur diffusion et de garantir leur conservation pérenne.

Chaque établissement possède son propre espace de travail collaboratif : au fur et à mesure du circuit de la thèse, les différents acteurs (doctorants, écoles doctorales, services de scolarité, bibliothèques …) sont sollicités pour effectuer les tâches qui leur sont spécifiques.

Afin de favoriser l’échange de données et l’interopérabilité entre les systèmes d’information, l’application STAR propose des configurations adaptées aux modes d’organisation des établissements. Il est ainsi possible d’importer les métadonnées de thèses saisies dans d’autres systèmes d’information et de les transformer selon le schéma de métadonnées TEF, normalisé et validé

Fonctionnalités et services

Les fonctionnalités suivantes sont disponibles :

  • archivage  : STAR constitue l’intermédiaire entre les établissements et la plateforme d’archivage du CINES  (PAC).
    • automatisation des exports des fichiers et de certaines métadonnées vers PAC
  • attribution d’un identifiant : un identifiant NNT – Numéro National de Thèse – est associé à chaque thèse, ce qui garantit un accès pérenne aux notices de thèse à partir du moteur de recherche Theses.fr
  • gestion des métadonnées descriptives
  • conversion des métadonnées au format TEF dans différents formats :
    • UNIMARC : alimentation du catalogue Sudoc
    • Dublin Core : alimentation du réservoir OAI-PMH STAR
    • TEI : alimentation de l’archive ouverte TEL
  • enrichissement des métadonnées d’autorité
  • export des thèses vers un serveur de diffusion (CCSD, Abes …)
  • recherche : la base des métadonnées est interrogeable à partir des environnements STAR des établissements
Accéder à STAR

STEP – Signalement des Thèses en Préparation


Le signalement des thèses de doctorat en préparation est assuré via l’application professionnelle nationale STEP. Le signalement des thèses en préparation constitue l’une des bonnes pratiques pour améliorer la visibilité de la recherche doctorale en cours, ces informations étant accessibles à partir du moteur de recherche theses.fr.

Précision : le signalement des thèses en préparation ne garantit ni protection ni exclusivité sur le sujet traité. L’intérêt scientifique d’un sujet déposé relève exclusivement du dialogue entre les doctorant et leur directeur de thèse qui veillera à ne pas agréer un sujet déjà signalé.

Fonctionnalités

A la  disposition des gestionnaires de thèses des établissements de soutenance, STEP propose différents formulaires pour la saisie des métadonnées descriptives des thèses en préparation et des évènements les concernant (ex : date de soutenance, changement d’établissement de soutenance, abandon).

Selon la politique des établissements, les doctorants peuvent disposer d’identifiants STEP afin de saisir et compléter eux-mêmes certaines données. Le cas échéant, les modalités de connexion leur sont transmises par les gestionnaires de leur établissement au moment de la création de la fiche correspondant à leur thèse en préparation.

En cohérence avec le système d’information de l’Abes pour le signalement des thèses, l’application STEP est interconnectée avec STAR.

Afin d’accompagner les différentes étapes du circuit des thèses, STEP s’adapte aux systèmes d’information des établissements. A ce titre, elle permet l’import des données depuis différentes sources d’informations locales.

Accéder à STEP