Partnerships and cooperation

L'Abes, a partner in structuring projects for university and research documentation


Open data for open science

In the context of the Committee for Open Science (CoSO) and National Open Science Plans (1st plan 2018-2021 and 2nd plan 2021-2024),Abes has strengthened its policy in favour of openness and interoperability of the data and systems it administers. Within CoSO,Abes is a member of the Europe and International College.

Coso logo Go to ouvrirlascience.fr

This national strategic axis is reflected in particular by the voluntary action of the inAbes favour of the openness, quality and interoperability of identifiers and authority data, which is reflected in the wide reuse of the identifierIdRef.

It is also with this objective in mind thatAbes, since its creation at the end of 2019, and in collaboration with the Couperin consortium, the ORCID France consortium for enhanced visibility of researchers' identifiers on an international scale.

Benchmarks

From 2010, the Abes company's commitment to the dissemination of open and interoperable data and identifiers has taken concrete form, in particular through the creation and then widespread reuse of l’identifier IdRef by higher education and research information systems and databases.

As of 2012, the vast majority of metadata produced by member institutions of the networks administered by the Abes Etalab License / Open LicenseThis guarantees its dissemination and free reuse. Consult the conditions of use according to the type of data. 

Building the national digital library

Since its inception in 2012,Abes has been one of the founding members of the project ISTEX. It sits on the Steering Committee ISTEX.

Since 2019, the activity of financial porting for the acquisition of electronic resources under national licence continues in the framework of the Plan de soutien aux éditeurs (MESRI) and in the framework of the Acquisition component of the GIS CollEx-Persée (see below).

In close contact with the negotiators of the Couperin consortium, theAbes is mandated by the MESRI to constitute groupings of ordersTo sign and execute contracts for the acquisition of electronic resources from the main scientific publishers.
 

 

Accompanying the bibliographic transition

Led jointly by the Abes and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF), the national program Transition Bibliography is part of an international dynamic of transformation of bibliographic information models.

BnF logo Access to the BnF

As part of this program, three national working groups (Training; Standardization; Systems and Data) are producing the new bibliographic description standards resulting from these models. The program fully involves professional associations and training organizations.

As a national bibliographic agency, the NABAbes participates actively in the main bibliographic standardization bodies:

  • French UNIMARC Committee (CFU): the CFU Standardization Mission ManagerAbes is in charge of piloting
  • Permanent Unimarc Committee (PUC), committee under the aegis of theIFLA the Abes Head of Mission Standardization at the PUC where she represents the CFU's requests.
  • EURIG  - European RDA interest group Working Group on Aggregates: the Abes and BnF, as co-pilot of the Transition Bibliographique programme, represents French expectations and specificities.

In addition, within the framework of AFNOR, heAbes is a member of several working groups within the National Commission 46 - Information and Documentation,  mirror of theISO/TC 46, the commission in charge of these missions at the international level.

Launched in 2017 at the instigation of BnFAbes and BnF, which are responsible for steering it under the authority of the Strategic Bibliography Committee (SBC)the National Entity File (NEF) project constitutes a structuring element for the ongoing bibliographical transition. Indeed, the FNE project aims to design a platform for co-producing authority data, called "entities" according to the new bibliographic model. IFLA-LRM.

Serving Collections of Excellence with Collex-Persée

As the national operator serving the libraries of the ESR, itAbes is part of the Council of Members of the Collex-Perse GIS which "encourages and financially supports collaborative approaches to digitization, metadata enrichment and/or the development of other types of services on corpuses of documents and data of various kinds".

CollEx-Perforated Logo Go to CollEx-Persée

Within the framework of its missions, itAbes is involved in several capacities in different Working Groups (WG) coordinated by the GIS Collex-Persée :

  •  WG on Acquisitions Abes is in charge with its partners of the negotiations and national license purchases specialised electronic resources for the use of research communities, to complement the offer already available within the documentation structures
  • WG "Cartography": co-piloted by BnFAbes and BnF
  • Shared Conservation Plans WG
  • WG "Provision of remote documentation".
  • WG on Perennial Digital Archiving

In addition, within the framework of the Calls for Projects regularly launched by Collex-Persée to the ESR library community, Collex-PerséeAbes is a partner in many projects led by institutions, particularly projects relating to the alignment of identifiers or involving the enrichment of authority data.

L'Abes, partner of the main actors of scientific and technical information


The missions carried out by the ISTAbes are carried out within the framework of partnerships and operational cooperation with the main actors in the field of STI and documentation:

Cooperation within the framework of the SGBm framework agreement and the reporting of doctoral theses to enable interoperability between the STAR / STEP and APOGEE production environments and the enrolment management system put in place by the EUMA

BnF

Data exchange and sharing; co-piloting of the Transition Bibliography Program and the project to implement a National Entity File (FNE)

Data exchanges between Calames and the CERL portal; membership of the HPB - Heritage Print Books database

Cooperation in the framework of the valorisation and reporting of defended doctoral theses (and other versions of the thesis) deposited on the TEL platform, open archive for the deposit of theses implemented by the CCSD. Learn more

Hosting of all the servers and database administered by the Abes ; perennial archiving of digital copies of defended doctoral theses. Learn more

Cooperation in carrying the e-resource order bundless, the acquisition of national licences and the ORCID France consortium

 

Cooperation within the framework of the continuous education of library staff; consultation and exchanges on training programmes in accordance with the changes required by the Correspondents' assignments Sudoc

Cooperation on the concerted management of plans for the shared preservation of periodicals (PCPP) in the Ile de France region.

Provision of descriptive metadata of doctoral theses withAbes a view to their international valorisation. Learn more

Cooperation in the framework of vocational training (hosting of trainees and project teams; regular interventions of experts from the Abes

Conventional framework agreement to facilitate the concerted management of plans for the shared preservation of periodicals (PCPP) at the regional level (excluding Paris and Ile de France.

Cooperation in electronic resource acquisition programs ISTEX and CollEx-Persée data processing/reporting and platform powering ISTEX  and PANIST; operational partnership for the retrospective processing of the Arabesques magazine, in its digital version on the Prairial portal

Provision of specialist medical authority notices (FMeSH notices)

Cooperation in the framework of the project " Arabesques online on Prairial "which uses the editorial chain developed by Métopes

Close cooperation in the reporting and identification of serial publications. Provision and enrichment of data from the ISSN Registry. Shared use of the professional application CIDEMIS - dematerialized circuit of ISSN applications, developed by the Abes in close cooperation with the CIEPS and ISSN France. Learn more

Scientific cooperation within the framework of the ANR research project "Qualinca", an artificial intelligence service at the basis of the data quality system and data linking. Learn more

Operational partnership for the valorisation of descriptive data of open access serials (mutual enrichment of data; identifiers and links to facilitate bounces)

Sudoc is based on the Central Bibliographic System (CBS) and its software suite, distributed by OCLC. As such,Abes , as a CBS partner, participates in the international user group dedicated to the exchange of information and technical guidance. The member institutions of the Sudoc network wishing to benefit from the localization services and the Worldcat APIs have the possibility tojoin OCLC.

 

In 2020, the French-speaking network of documentation signed a partnership withAbes to supplyIdRef with data relating to French-speaking Switzerland and to develop its use in Swiss libraries

Exchange of information and good practices

InvolvementAbes in professional associations


 

The Association of ESR Library Directors representsAbes the interests of the ESR's documentary institutions, particularly in the work of the SSI Commission - Reporting and Information Systems.

ABF

Association of French Librarians

Association of Documentalists and Specialized Librarians 

Higher Education and Research Informatics Services Committee

International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions

Each year, itAbes participates in the congress of the European League of Research Libraries (LIBER), whose president is a member of the Scientific Council of the European Union.Abes

Partenariats et coopérations

L’Abes, partenaire des projets structurants pour la documentation universitaire et de recherche


Des données ouvertes pour une science ouverte

En cohérence avec le Plan en faveur de la Science ouverte (juillet 2018) et dans le cadre des travaux du Comité pour la Science Ouverte (COSO), l’Abes a renforcé sa politique en faveur de l’ouverture et de l’interopérabilité des données et des systèmes qu’elle administre. Au sein du COSO, l’Abes est membre du collège Europe et International.

Cet axe stratégique national se traduit notamment par l’action volontariste de l’Abes en faveur de l‘ouverture, la qualité et l’interopérabilité des identifiants et des données d’autorité concrétisée par une large réutilisation de l’identifiant IdRef.

C’est également dans cet objectif que l’Abes, en collaboration avec le consortium Couperin, coordonne, depuis sa création fin 2019, le consortium ORCID-France pour une visibilité renforcée  des identifiants de chercheurs à l’échelle internationale.

Repères

Dès 2010, l’engagement de l’Abes dans la diffusion de données et d’identifiants ouverts et interopérables s’est concrétisée notamment par la création puis la large réutilisation de l’identifiant IdRef par les systèmes d’information et les bases de données de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche.

Depuis 2012, la grande majorité des métadonnées produites par les établissements membres des réseaux administrés par l’Abes sont sous Licence Etalab / Open Licence, ce qui en garantit la diffusion et la libre réutilisation. Consulter les conditions d’utilisation selon le type de données. 

Accompagner la transition bibliographique

Piloté conjointement par l’Abes et la Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF), le programme national Transition Bibliographique s’inscrit dans une dynamique internationale de transformation des modèles de l’information bibliographique.

Dans le cadre de ce programme, trois groupes de travail nationaux (Formation ; Normalisation ; Systèmes et Données) produisent les nouvelles normes de description bibliographique découlant de ces modèles. Le programme associe pleinement les associations professionnelles et les organismes de formation

En tant qu’agence bibliographique nationale, l’Abes participe activement aux principales instances de normalisation bibliographique :

  • Comité Français UNIMARC (CFU) : la chargée de mission Normalisation de l’Abes est en charge du pilotage
  • Permanent Unimarc Committee (PUC), comité sous l’égide de l’IFLA : la chargée de mission Normalisation de l’Abes siège au PUC où elle représente les demandes du CFU
  • EURIG  European RDA interest group Working Group on Aggregates : l’Abes et la BnF, en tant que co-pilote du programme Transition Bibliographique, représente les attentes et spécificités françaises

Par ailleurs, dans le cadre de l’AFNOR, l’Abes est membre de plusieurs Groupes de travail au sein de la Commission Nationale 46 – Information et Documentation,  miroir de l’ISO/TC 46, commission chargée de ces missions au niveau international.

Lancé en 2017 sous l’impulsion de l’Abes et de la BnF, qui en assurent le pilotage sous l’autorité du Comité Stratégique Bibliographique (CSB), le projet Fichier National d’Entités (FNE) constitue un élément structurant pour la transition bibliographique en cours.  En effet, le projet FNE a pour objectif la conception d’une plate-forme de co-production des  données d’autorité, nommés « entités » selon le nouveau modèle bibliographique IFLA-LRM.

Au service des Collections d’excellence avec Collex-Persée

En tant qu’opérateur national au service des bibliothèques de l’ESR, l’Abes fait partie du Conseil des membres du GIS Collex-Persée qui « encourage et soutient financièrement des démarches collaboratives de numérisation, d’enrichissement de métadonnées et/ou de développement d’autres types de services sur des corpus de documents et de données de différentes natures ».

Dans le cadre de ses missions, l’Abes est impliquée à plusieurs titres dans différents Groupes de Travail (GT) coordonnés par le GIS Collex-Persée :

  •  GT « Acquisitions » : l’Abes est chargée avec ses partenaires des négociations et achats en licence nationale de ressources électroniques spécialisées, à l’usage des communautés de chercheurs, en complément de l’offre déjà disponible au sein des structures documentaires
  • GT « Cartographie » : co-piloté par l’Abes et la BnF
  • GT « Plans de conservation partagée »
  • GT « Fourniture de documentation à distance »
  • GT « Archivage numérique pérenne »

Par ailleurs, dans le cadre des Appels à Projets lancés régulièrement par Collex-Persée auprès de la communauté des bibliothèques de l’ESR, l’Abes est partenaire de nombreux projets portés par les établissements, notamment les projets relatifs aux alignements d’identifiants ou impliquant des enrichissements de données d’autorité.

L’Abes, partenaire des principaux acteurs de l’Information scientifique et technique


Les missions portées par l’Abes sont réalisées dans le cadre de partenariats et de coopérations opérationnelles avec les principaux acteurs de l’IST et de la documentation :

Coopérations dans le cadre de l’accord-cadre SGBm et du signalement des thèses de doctorat pour permettre l’interopérabilité entre les environnements de production STAR / STEP et APOGÉE et système gestion des inscriptions mis en place par l’AMUE

Échanges et partages de données  ; co-pilotage du programme Transition Bibliographique et du projet de mise en œuvre d’un Fichier National d’Entités (FNE)

Échanges de données entre Calames et le portail du CERL ; adhésion à la base HPB – Heritage Print Books database

Coopération dans le cadre de la valorisation et du signalement des thèses de doctorat soutenues (et autres versions de la thèse) déposées sur la plateforme TEL, archive ouverte pour le dépôt des thèses mis en oeuvre par le CCSD. En savoir plus

Hébergement de l’ensemble des serveurs et base de données administrées par l’Abes  ; archivage pérenne des exemplaires numériques des thèses de doctorat soutenues. En savoir plus

Coopération dans le cadre du portage des groupements de commandes de ressources électroniques, de l’acquisition des licences nationales et du consortium ORCID-France

 

Coopération dans le cadre de la formation continue des personnels de bibliothèques ; concertation et échanges autour des programmes de formation en fonction des évolutions requises par les missions des Correspondants Sudoc

Coopération autour de la gestion concertée des plans de conservation partagée des périodiques (PCPP) thématiques en Ile de France

Fourniture par l’Abes des métadonnées descriptives des thèses de doctorat en vue de leur valorisation à l’international. En savoir plus

Coopération dans le cadre de la formation professionnelle (accueil de stagiaires et d’équipes projets ;  interventions régulières d’experts de l’Abes

Accord-cadre conventionnel pour faciliter la gestion concertée des plans de conservation partagée des périodiques (PCPP) à l’échelle régionale (hors Paris et Ile de France.

Coopération dans le cadre des programmes d’acquisition de ressources électroniques ISTEX et CollEx-Persée , du traitement / signalement des données et de l’alimentation des plates-formes ISTEX  et PANIST  ;  partenariat opérationnel dans le cadre du traitement rétrospectif de la revue Arabesques, dans sa version numérique sur le portail Prairial

Fourniture de notices d’autorité spécialisé dans le domaine médical (notices FMeSH)

Coopération étroite dans le cadre du signalement et de l’identification des publications en série. Fourniture et enrichissement des données issues du Registre ISSN. Utilisation partagée de l’application professionnelle CIDEMIS – circuit dématérialisé des demandes ISSN, développée par l’Abes en coopération étroite avec le CIEPS et ISSN France. En savoir plus

Coopération scientifique dans le cadre du projet de recherche ANR « Qualinca », service d’intelligence artificielle à la base du dispositif de qualité des données et des liens entre elles (data linking). En savoir plus

Le Sudoc repose sur le Central Bibliographic Système (CBS) et sur la suite logicielle proposée par OCLC. A ce titre, l’Abes est membre du CBS partnairs, club d’utilisateurs international  dédié aux échanges d’informations et d’orientations techniques.  Les établissements membres du réseau Sudoc souhaitant bénéficier des services de localisation et des API Worldcat ont la possibilité d’adhérer  à OCLC.

 

Échanges d’informations et de bonnes pratiques

Implication de l’Abes au sein des associations professionnelles


 

L’association des directeurs de bibliothèques de l’ESR représente auprès de l’Abes les intérêts des établissements documentaires de l’ESR, notamment dans le cadre des travaux de la commission SSI – Signalement et Systèmes d’Information

Association des bibliothécaires français

Association des documentalistes et bibliothécaires spécialisés 

Comité des services informatiques de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche

Fédération internationale des associations de bibliothécaires

L’Abes participe chaque année au congrès de la Ligue européenne des bibliothèques de recherche (LIBER) dont la présidente est membre du Conseil Scientifique de l’Abes