Join the network Calames

Namely: the integration of any new institution into the network Calames is subject to validation by the Board of Directors of the Abes.

Go to Calames

perimeter

The network Calames's vocation is to welcome :

  • all higher education and research institutions that preserve manuscripts and archives. This includes university libraries but also the libraries of major institutions (e.g. the National Museum of Natural History or the Institut de France) or research libraries.
  • other types of institutions, such as learned societies or certain schools under other government departmentsMESRI, upon prior study of the conditions of membership; and

Terms and Conditions

Interested institutions are invited to send their official application to the management of the InstituteAbes during the first quarter of the calendar year. On receipt of this letter, a questionnaire is sent to them in order to collect all the information useful for the examination of their application (administrative information, description of the archive collections and manuscripts preserved, computer equipment, level of staff training...).

The applications are then examined at the Board of Directors' meeting ofAbes (June-July) for deployment in the network Calames the following year.

Each facility deployed in the network Calames is identified by a CRR Calamesnumber to which one or more login(s) for access to the application are attached.

The number of XMetal licenses depends on the number of simultaneous accesses required at each location. This information is included in the agreement Calamesbetween the institution and the Abes. The provision of the cataloguing interface is the basis for invoicing, calculated on the basis of the amortization of the purchase of the licenses.

Adhérer au réseau Calames

À savoir : l’intégration de tout nouvel établissement dans le réseau Calames fait l’objet d’une validation de la part du Conseil d’administration de l’Abes.

Accéder à Calames

Périmètre

Le réseau Calames a pour vocation d’accueillir :

  • l’ensemble des établissements documentaire d’enseignement supérieur et recherche qui conservent des manuscrits et des archives. Ce périmètre englobe les bibliothèques universitaires mais aussi les bibliothèques de grands établissements (ex: Muséum national d’histoire naturelle ou Institut de France) ou les bibliothèques de recherche
  • d’autres types d’établissements comme les sociétés savantes ou certaines écoles dépendant d’autres ministères que le MESRI, sur étude préalable des conditions de l’adhésion

Modalités

Les établissements intéressés sont invités à transmettre leur demande officielle à la direction de l’Abes au cours du premier trimestre de l’année civile.  À réception de ce courrier, un questionnaire leur est adressé afin de recueillir toutes les informations utiles à l’examen de leur candidature (renseignements administratifs, description des collections d’archives et manuscrits conservés, équipement informatique, niveau de formation du personnel….).

L’examen des candidatures intervient ensuite lors du Conseil d’administration de l’Abes (juin-juillet) pour un déploiement dans le réseau Calames l’année suivante.

Chaque établissement déployé dans le réseau Calames est identifié par un n°RCR Calames auquel sont rattachés un ou plusieurs login(s) d’accès à l’application.

Le nombre de licences XMetal dépend du nombre d’accès simultanés nécessaires dans chaque établissement. Cette information figure dans la convention Calames signée entre l’établissement et l’Abes. C’est la mise à disposition de l’interface de catalogage qui donne lieu à facturation, calculée en fonction de l’amortissement de l’achat des licences.