Production and enrichment of authority records

Go to IdRef

IdRef - Identifiers and Benchmarks for the ESR


The basis of bibliographic data quality, authority data unambiguously identifies the persons (natural and legal), places, concepts and works related to the resource described. They constitute a guarantee of reliability and structuring for the unhindered dissemination of research results.

The platform IdRef - Identifiers and Repositories for Higher Education and Research is an integral part of the national framework for the Open Science.

Logo IdRef Go to IdRef

A range of services


Living and administered database of authority records (individuals, communities, congresses, common names RAMEAU or FMesh, form or genus RAMEAU, geographical name, title, author-title ...) identified in a unique and perennial way, idref.fr provides establishments with a wide range of services.

IdRef, the pivotal identifier for Higher Education and Research

Each authority record has an identifierIdRef, a stable and perennial identifier based on the record Sudoc identifier (PPN). IdRef is interoperable with the main international identifiers (ISNI, VIAF, ORCID, wikidata). At the national level, the following IdRef is linked to the identifier ARK used by the National Library of France.

By optimising the aggregation of bibliographical data from different production contexts, the identifier IdRef plays a pivotal role within the ESR information systems:

  • data administered by the Abes : Sudoc, theses.fr, Calames
  • open archives : HAL, institutional archives...
  • open access scientific editions 
  • research data warehouses...

Due to the mandatory reporting of doctoral theses (authors, research directors, jury members...), IdRef has an excellent coverage of contemporary researchers. Thus, IdRef constitutes a register of digital identities with a strong tropism for scientific authors working in France. 

As an open and interoperable identifier, it IdRef is fully in line with the dynamic undertaken by the MESRI to implement the conditions of the Open Science. In this logic, the identifier IdRef is used by many RSE operators or within the framework of calls for documentary projects (Collex-Persée, ANR) mainly to make data relating to individuals and communities more reliable, such as the example of  ScanRa search and innovation engine developed by the MESRI.

See : Open credentials for open science Guidance note from the Committee for Open Science (CoSo) - College Europe and International (07/06/2019)

IdRef public, interface for searching and consulting authority data

With free access on the Internet, the public interface IdRef - Identifiers and Reference Frameworks for the ESR is dedicated to the search and consultation of authority records (individuals, communities, congresses, common names RAMEAU or FMesh, form or genre RAMEAU, geographical name, title, author-title ...).

From the IdRef public interface, the user has the possibility to : 

  • view authority records: access points, variants, notes, sources, interoperability with other identifiers
  • bounce back to related bibliographic resources: in the Sudoc, theses.fr, Calamesbut also in HALPerseus, ORCID or the BnF catalogue
  • visualize contextual elements: for example for "natural persons" authority records, display of co-contributors, communities, associated RAMEAU concepts
  • retrieve data (on the fly) in different formats (XML, RDF, formats compatible with bibliographic reference management software such as Zotero)
  • report an error / suggest an improvement to the manual

note: the public IdRef interface can be integrated with third party applications in order to create links between records as they go along

IdRef professional: cataloguing module for authority records

Accessible under authentication, the cataloguing IdRef module is available as a stand-alone cataloguing tool. It is also interconnected to different cataloguing and/or data production environments within the ESR : 

Thus, cataloguers remain in their initial production environment and seamlessly "switch" to IdRef linking or creating the required authority records, thus producing or enriching reference data that can be freely reused.

Exposure services / reuse of authority data

Like all the metadata produced by the production networks managed by EtalabAbes, the authority data is under Open Licence / Open Licence of the State elaborated by the Etalab mission. Various technical modalities for the exposure of authority data are proposed in order to facilitate their reuse.

Support for quality control of data and links

Authority data is extremely valuable for the construction of linked open data (LOD). The authority dataAbes administrator pays particular attention to the quality of the links between authority records and bibliographic records.

Service of providing alignments

Since 2017, itAbes offers a service for providing alignments between identifiers used in particular to link the data authorities "natural persons" from different databases.

Production et enrichissement des notices d'autorité

Accéder à IdRef

IdRef – Identifiants et Référentiels pour l’ESR


Socle de la qualité des données bibliographiques, les données d’autorité identifient sans ambiguïté les personnes (physiques et morales), les lieux, les concepts et les œuvres liés à la ressource décrite. Elles constituent une garantie de fiabilité et de structuration au service de la diffusion sans entrave des résultats de la recherche.

La plateforme IdRef – Identifiants et Référentiels pour l’Enseignement supérieur et la Recherche s’inscrit pleinement dans le dispositif national en faveur de la Science ouverte.

Accéder à IdRef

Une palette de services


Base vivante et administrée de notices d’autorité (personnes physiques, collectivités, congrès, noms communs RAMEAU ou FMesh, forme ou genre RAMEAU, nom géographique, titre, auteur-titre …) identifiées de façon unique et pérenne, idref.fr met à disposition des établissements une importante palette de services.

IdRef, identifiant pivot pour l’Enseignement Supérieur et la Recherche

Chaque notice d’autorité est dotée d’un identifiant IdRef, identifiant stable et pérenne construit sur l’identifiant de la notice Sudoc (PPN). IdRef est interopérable avec les principaux identifiants internationaux (ISNI, VIAF, ORCID, wikidata). A l’échelle nationale, IdRef est relié à l’identifiant ARK utilisé par la Bibliothèque nationale de France.

En optimisant l’agrégation des données bibliographiques issues de différents contextes de production, l’identifiant IdRef joue un rôle pivot au sein des systèmes d’information de l’ESR :

  • données administrées par l’Abes : Sudoc, theses.fr, Calames
  • archives ouvertes : HAL, archives institutionnelles…
  • éditions scientifiques en libre accès 
  • entrepôts de données de la recherche …

Du fait du signalement à caractère obligatoire des thèses de doctorat (auteurs, directeurs de recherche, membres de jury..), IdRef dispose d’une excellente couverture des chercheurs contemporains. Ainsi, IdRef constitue un registre d’identités numériques avec un fort tropisme pour les auteurs scientifiques exerçant en France. 

En tant qu’identifiant ouvert et interopérable, IdRef s’inscrit pleinement dans la dynamique engagée par le MESRI pour mettre en œuvre les conditions de la Science ouverte. Dans cette logique, l’identifiant IdRef est utilisé par de nombreux opérateurs de l’ESR ou dans le cadre d’appels à projets documentaires (Collex-Persée, ANR) essentiellement pour fiabiliser les données relatives aux personnes et aux collectivités, à l’exemple de  ScanR, moteur de recherche et de l’innovation développé par le MESRI.

Consulter : Des identifiants ouverts pour la science ouverte Note d’orientation du Comité pour la Science ouverte (CoSo)  – Collège Europe et international (07/06/2019)

IdRef public, interface de recherche et de consultation des données d’autorité

En accès libre sur Internet, l’interface publique IdRef Identifiants et Référentiels pour l’ESR est dédiée à la recherche et la consultation de notices d’autorité  (personnes physiques, collectivités, congrès, noms communs RAMEAU ou FMesh, forme ou genre RAMEAU, nom géographique, titre, auteur-titre …).

A partir de l’interface IdRef public, l’utilisateur a la possibilité de : 

  • visualiser les notices d’autorité : points d’accès, variantes, notes, sources, interopérabilité avec d’autres identifiants
  • rebondir vers les ressources bibliographiques liées : dans le Sudoc, theses.fr, Calames, mais également dans HALPersée, ORCID ou le catalogue de la BnF
  • visualiser les éléments contextuels : par exemple pour les notices d’autorité « personnes physique », affichage des co-contributeurs, collectivités, concepts RAMEAU associés
  • récupérer les données (à la volée) dans différents formats (XML, RDF, formats compatibles avec les logiciels de gestion de références bibliographiques comme Zotero)
  • signaler une erreur / proposer une amélioration de la notice

à noter : l’interface publique IdRef peut être intégrée à des applications tierces afin de réaliser des liages entre notices au fil de l’eau

IdRef professionnel : module de catalogage des notices d’autorité

Accessible sous authentification, le module de catalogage IdRef est disponible en tant qu’outil de catalogage autonome. Il est également interconnecté à différents environnements de catalogage et/ou production de données au sein de l’ESR : 

Ainsi, les  catalogueurs restent dans leur environnement de production initial et « basculent » vers IdRef de manière fluide pour lier ou créer les notices d’autorité requises, produisant ou enrichissant ainsi des données de référence, librement réutilisables.

Services d’exposition / réutilisation des données d’autorité

Comme toutes les métadonnées produites par les réseaux de production gérés par l’Abes, les données d’autorité sont sous Licence Ouverte / Open Licence de l’État élaborée par la mission Etalab. Diverses modalités techniques d’exposition des données d’autorité sont proposées afin de faciliter leur réutilisation.

Soutien au contrôle qualité des données et des liens

Les données d’autorité sont extrêmement précieuses pour la construction du linked open data (LOD). L’Abes administre les données d’autorité avec une attention particulière à la qualité des liens entre notices d’autorité et notices bibliographiques.

Service de fourniture d’alignements

Depuis 2017, l’Abes propose un service de fourniture d’alignements entre identifiants utilisé notamment pour lier les données autorités « personnes physiques » issus de différentes bases de données.