At the heart of Abes

L'Abes, the bibliographic agency for higher education


Together with the networks

Reporting of information resources, a collaborative network activity

ItAbes provides higher education and research institutions (HEIs) with a range of tools and services dedicated to the reporting and administration of the documentary resources available in their libraries.

TheAbes supports the professionals of the member institutions of its networks in their bibliographic reporting activities (training, assistance, coordination of quality projects, data migration, etc.). The main orientations are developed in close connection with the ADBU, particularly in the framework of the Reporting and Information Systems (RIS) Committee.

As the national bibliographic agency for the ESR, theAbes carries out documentary standardisation missions. In this capacity, it collaborates with the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF), and holds responsibilities within the main national and international bodies devoted to the development of standards necessary for the world of documentation. To know more about it

The reporting of doctoral theses, a national mission

In accordance with the order of 25 May 2016 (art.24-25)As an official document in digital format, doctoral theses are subject to strict regulations regarding their registration, permanent archiving and availability for consultation.

Within the framework of this national mission entrusted by the MESRI, theAbes provides institutions authorised to award doctorates with a range of services and tools dedicated to the reporting and submission of theses and the valorisation of doctoral research.

This mission is carried out in close cooperation with the CINESoperator for the archiving of theses and the CCSDoperator for the dissemination of theses on theTEL open archive.

The other files are under the responsibility of MESRI, including:

  •  the authorisations of institutions for the award of the doctoral degree 
  • the supervision of the partners involved in the dissemination and enhancement of theses
  • legal issues, in particular those relating to intellectual property

Search interfaces to facilitate access to data

The data produced collectively by the member institutions of the ESR document networks are freely accessible from 4 search interfaces:

  • Sudoc The Sudoc catalogue lists all the documentary resources available in the 3,500 member libraries of the Sudoc/Sudoc PS networks. Learn more
  • theses.fr The theses.fr search engine provides access to the descriptive metadata of French doctoral theses, either defended or with the status "in preparation". Learn more
  • Calames The catalogue Calames lists and describes in an appropriate format the archives and manuscripts available in the ESR libraries. Learn more
  • IdRef The IdRef repository provides access to authority data produced by the member libraries of the document networks (Sudoc, Calames and Theses) and in the framework of numerous institutional partnerships. Learn more

L'Abes, an agency for the mutualisation of academic and research institutions


TheAbes offers its legal expertise and financing capacities to the ESR community in the framework of public procurement, in particular for the acquisition of electronic document resources or Library Management Systems.

Acquisitions of electronic resources

Support for institutional projects

 

L'Abes, the national agency for the allocation of the ISIL number for French libraries


The identifier ISIL - International Standard for Identifier for Libraries (ISO 15511:2009), an international standard code, is used to identify libraries and related organizations. In France, the n°ISIL has the same structure as the n°RCR, preceded by "FR".

As aagency national ISILAbes is responsible for assigning ISIL identifiers at the request of any library, including those not participating in theAbes networks. This service is used in particular for the RFID equipment of libraries.

Au cœur des missions de l'Abes

L’Abes, agence bibliographique de l’enseignement supérieur


Ensemble avec les réseaux

Le signalement des ressources documentaires, une activité collaborative organisée en réseau

L’Abes met à la disposition des établissements de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche (ESR) une gamme  d’outils et de services dédiés au signalement et à l’administration des ressources documentaires disponibles dans leurs bibliothèques.

L’Abes accompagne les professionnels des établissements membres de ses réseaux pour tous les aspects liés à l’activité de signalement bibliographique  (formation, assistance, coordination de chantiers qualité, migrations de données…).

Pour ces activités, les principales orientations sont élaborées en relation étroite avec l’ADBU, notamment dans le cadre de la commission Signalement et Systèmes d’Information (SSI), relais des attentes et besoins des établissements documentaires de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche.

En tant qu’agence bibliographique nationale pour l’enseignement supérieur et la recherche, l’Abes, porte des missions de normalisation documentaire. A ce titre, elle collabore avec la Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF), et occupe des responsabilités au sein des principales instances nationales et internationales consacrées à l’élaboration des normes nécessaires au monde de la documentation. En savoir plus

Le signalement des thèses de doctorat, une mission nationale

Conformément à l’arrêté du 25 mai 2016 (art.24-25), les thèses de doctorat, en tant que document officiel au format numérique, font l’objet d’une réglementation stricte en ce qui concerne leur signalement, leur archivage pérenne, leur disponibilité à la consultation.

Dans le cadre de cette mission nationale confiée par le MESRI, l’Abes met à la disposition des établissements habilités à délivrer le doctorat une gamme de services et d’outils dédiés au signalement et au dépôt des thèses et à la valorisation de la recherche doctorale.

Cette mission est menée en collaboration avec le CINES, opérateur pour l’archivage des thèses et le CCSD, opérateur pour la diffusion des thèses en libre accès sur le serveur TEL. Certains dossiers sont du ressort du MESRI :

  • les habilitations des établissements pour la délivrance du diplôme de doctorat 
  • la tutelle des partenaires impliqués dans la diffusion et la valorisation des thèses
  • les questions juridiques, en particulier celles relatives à la propriété intellectuelle

Des interfaces de recherche pour permettre l’accés aux données

Les données produites collectivement au sein des établissements membres des réseaux sont accessibles à partir de 4 interfaces de recherche en accès libre :

  • Sudoc : le catalogue Sudoc recense les ressources documentaires disponibles dans les 3 500 bibliothèques membres des réseaux Sudoc/Sudoc PS. En savoir plus
  • theses.fr : le moteur de recherche theses.fr donne accès aux données descriptives des thèses de doctorat françaises, soutenues ou avec le statut « en préparation ». En savoir plus
  • Calames : le catalogue Calames recense les archives et manuscrits disponibles dans les bibliothèques de l’ESR. En savoir plus
  • IdRefidentifiants et référentiels : permet d’accéder aux notices d’autorité produites par les bibliothèques membres des réseaux documentaires (Sudoc, Calames et Thèses) et dans le cadre de partenariats institutionnels. En savoir plus

L’Abes, agence de mutualisation des établissements universitaires et de recherche


L’Abes met à disposition de la communauté de l’ESR son expertise juridique dans le cadre des marchés publics et ses capacités de financement, notamment pour les acquisitions de ressources documentaires électroniques, de logiciels spécialisés ou de systèmes de gestions de bibliothèques.

Les acquisitions de ressources électroniques

L’accompagnement des projets des établissements

 

L’Abes, agence nationale d’attribution du n°ISIL pour les bibliothèques françaises


L’identifiant ISIL – International Standard for Identifier for Libraries (norme ISO 15511 :2009),  code international normalisé, est utilisé pour identifier les bibliothèques et organismes apparentés. En France, le n°ISIL possède la même structure que le n°RCR, précédé de « FR ».

En tant qu’agence ISIL nationale, l’Abes est en charge d’attribuer un identifiant ISIL à toute bibliothèque demandeuse, y compris celles ne participant pas aux réseaux de l’Abes. Ce service est utilisé notamment lors de l’équipement RFID des bibliothèques.