The Scientific Council of theAbes

Role of the Abes

As an advisory body, the Scientific Council's role is to issue opinions and recommendations on the strategic orientations of the Abes. The Scientific Council analyses certain questions or orientations submitted by the Board of Directors.


Composition of the Scientific Council of theAbes

The Scientific Council Abes was created by deliberation of the Board of Directors on 29 April 2010. It is composed of 19 members, namely :

  • 16 personalities appointed by the Board of Directors with competence in the areas of activity of the Abes 
  •  3 representatives elected by the staff of the companyAbes for a term of 3 years.

The Chairman of the Board of Directors, the Director of the Labo Abes and the Head of the Labo attend the meetings of the Scientific Council as of right.

The SC is chaired by Laurent Romary, Research Director at INRIA and director of the Dariah-EU project. It is composed of the following personalities

4 professionals from partner institutions

  • Gildas Illien, National Museum of Natural History
  • Frédérique Joannic-Seta, National Library of France
  • Olivier Rouchon, CINES
  • Stéphane Pouyllau, HumaNum

2 foreign professionals from the same sector of activity

  • Jeannette Frey, BCU Lausanne and President of the LIBER association
  • Magaly Bascones, JISC, UK

5 competent researchers in the sector

  • Patrice Bellot, LSIS Laboratory, Aix Marseille University
  • Gilles Dumont, University of Nantes
  • Sébastien Ferré, IRISA
  • Elena Pierazzo, Centre d'études supérieures de la Renaissance, Université de Tours
  • Laurent Romary, INRIA

4 documentation professionals working in university or research libraries

  • Brigitte Prudhomme, Doc'INSA Lyon
  • Grégory Miura, SCD Université Bordeaux Montaigne
  • Julien Roche, SCD University of Lille and vice-president of the LIBER association
  • Yann Sordet, Mazarine Library

1 documentation professional practicing in an EPST

  • Claire François, INIST-CNRS

3 members elected by and from among the staff of the Abes

  • Michaël Jeulin, for the college of library personnel
  • Yann Nicolas, for the college of library curators
  • Jean-Luc Prieto, for the College of Engineering Personnel